Jose “Pepe” Rivas

I ran two races this weekend!  The last one was the “Freight Train 5 mile” in Kennesaw, Georgia…just north of Atlanta.  Hats are not uncommon, but Jose “Pepe” Rivas was wearing a sombrero that must have created a drag on his momemtum going forward.   I later learned that Pepe works at a Mexican restaurant in Calhoun, Georgia.   His English is limited.   The sombrero-wearing runner came over to me after the race.  He wanted a picture with me.   Just before his wife snapped us together, Pepe put his sombrero on me.  Here is the result.  I think I’ll dream tonight that it’s a magic sombrero that allows me to recapture the speed I enjoyed when I was Pepe’s age.   That would be MAGIC!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

