A hat from St. Simons

My wife and I found this hat in a shop at St. Simons.   It reminded me of the chapeaus my father wore throughout the 1940s and 50s.    My father donned straw hats in the Spring and Summer…felt hats for the rest of the year.   He wiped the straws with a wet cloth.    The felts went to the cleaners for blocking.     The prices of the best dress hats were from five to seven dollars and fifty cents.   The straws could be had for one to two dollars….quite a sum of money when my father was making no more than 75-dollars a week.   My stylish straw from St. Simons was only 16-dollars.  I’m grateful that my pay has increased much more than the price of hats.

Leave a Reply

