Watching ’em grow

This is a picture of an infant I met while walking in our neighborhood last week.  It reminds me of  several other youngsters we’ve seen grow up since moving here more than 23 years ago.    A family across the street has two sons.  One is close to graduating from college….the other will graduate high school in just a few months.  I remember when their mother was wheeling them down the street as this mother is her child.    I have memories that still evoke a smile.  For example, when 5-year-old Bobby rang our doorbell, he asked my wife if Don (that would be me) could come out to play.   Bolbby certainly didn’t discriminate because of age.   I watched Bobby and his brother Kip grow into young men much bigger than I ever was.  Every year when I see the falling leaves, I’m reminded of our mortality, of the inevitable cycle of life.  I’m approaching my December knowing that Spring will bring new life..and God willing, I’ll be around a few more times to come out and play.

Leave a Reply

