Icicles on the nose and ears

A friend and I went for a walk-run today when the temperature was 29 degrees with a wind-chill of 16.     This led me tell my friend about the coldest times I can remember.    The first in my memory bank comes from  my time in the United States Air Force.  I was stationed at Warren Air Force Base near Cheyenne, Wyoming.   It was during Cheyenne’s coldest three months of the year:   January thru March.   One day while we were marching, the temperature was 40 below zero, but we were young and thought we were invincible.    About thirty years later, I was running a marathon (26.2 miles) in Huntsville, Alabama.   The temperature was hovering around zero.   As the mucous would run from our nose and the sweat from our  sock-hat covered ears, the liquids would form icicles before traveling very far.    I wasn’t feeling invincible, but knew that as long as I kept moving, the body’s heat would overcome….just as it did today!

Leave a Reply

