6 degrees wind chill and dropping

Sunday night, I heard that the wind-chill Monday morning was expected to be 6 degrees.     I decided not to set my alarm to make the 30-minute drive to the Emory University health club.   I would get up early only if the alarm clock in my mind went off.     It did.   It was about 4:45 a.m. when I awakened.      I wrestled with the decision on whether to get up and go or stay in my snuggy warm bed.   I went, but many of the usual attendees were not there.    The extreme cold is a big discourager when you don’t absolutely have to leave your comfortable home.  However, it’s usually only a short distance between your car and your destination.   That’s what I keep reminding myself when I want to stay in bed.  By Tuesdy morning, the temperatue was a new low for this date since they began keeping records in 1917.    Temp=14 degrees.   Wind-chill=1(one degree).   I’m going to postpone my walk-run until around noon when the temp is predicted to become a virtual heat wave.   29 degrees!

One Response to “6 degrees wind chill and dropping”

  1. Dustin Walter Says:

    On monday morning in cherrypoint North Carolina it was 14 degrees and the wind chill was below 0. Marines in my unit didnt let that bother us when we woke up at 0500 to be at our base rifle range to shoot our rifles. What was supposed to be a 4-5 hour off by 2 event turned into an all day off by 1730 event thanks to the freezing cold weather. All 400 of us marines shooting that day passed the event regardless of the weather and shivering our hearts out all day without warmth.

Leave a Reply

