It wasn’t bright and shining, but

it was a moment.  I was up at 3:30 a.m. Saturday. It’s a two-hour drive south from my home in metro Atlanta to Robins Air Force Base adjacent to Warner-Robins, Georgia.  I was undecided about which race I would do:  a half-marathon (13.1 miles) or a 5K (3.1) miles.   But when I arrived at the Air Force Base and saw the hundreds of other people, it called up memories of the many times I’ve run both the full and half marathon at Robins.  So I wrote a 40-dollar check  for race day registration in the half.   I hadn’t run anything longer than 3.1 miles in awhile.    Soon, my body reminded me.   A little past the ten-mile mark, I began to weave all over the road.   Solicitous volunteers offered a ride, but God gave me the strength to keep on going….finally staggering across the finish line into the arms of a waiting volunteer.  The clock showed what was a full marathon time for me just a few years ago.   For me, it’s no longer about my time, it’s about starting and finishing what you start.   I’m grateful to God for getting me to the finish line one more time!

2 Responses to “It wasn’t bright and shining, but”

  1. Beryl Says:

    Wonderful words from a wonderful person – I enjoy all your blogs but this one is “especially special”!

  2. Deanna Says:

    Congratulations! I think finishing a race like that shows a kind of toughness that most lack. I signed up for my first half-marathon a few weeks ago. I pray for the courage you showed here!

Leave a Reply

