“Chariots of Fire” revisited

When the movie, “Chariots of Fire”  came out in 1981, I was inspired to run faster and farther.     I believe it was the year I ran my first marathon.   The 26.2 mile course was in Huntsville, Alabama.      Mentally, the toughest part of the marathon for me is usually between 13 and 17 miles.  Once you get to 17 miles, there’s a confidence that comes from knowing you have less than 10-miles to go.  At 17 miles,  I would replay in my mind the music from “Chariots of Fire”.    No Eric Liddell. or Harold Abrahams was I, but the memory of the music lifted my performance.  Disk and mp3 players would come later.    Sitting in my chair t watching the young men running by the ocean, I felt again the tug of the emotions that comes from splendid  plots and performances.  When I’m out of my chair and running, I’m again going to recall that wonderful moment when Eric Liddel. broke the tape in the finals of the 400 meters.  It was at the 1924 Olympics in Paris.   Liddell spoke of pleasuring God with his running.  That too will be my goal.

Leave a Reply

