“Want”

I want, I want, I want……may be one of the most selfish expressions in the English language.  I want love, I want money, I want to live the good life are desires we hear and speak over and over again.  Just listen, you’ll hear  the “wants” begin very early in life and continue until we die.  Is “want” just a word or is it truly a reflection of our self-centered natures?   It’s perhaps encouraged by secular or spiritual advisers who ask, “what do you want in life?”     To paraphrase a quote from President John F. Kennedy,  “…ask not what other people can do to fulfill your wants, ask what you can do to serve them….”    Then there’s the golden rule which says nothing about what you or I want.

Leave a Reply

