The ego con

In my e-mail box today was a message that began, “You have recently been selected as a candidate to represent your professional community in this year’s  Who’s Who among Executives and Professionals.   Your candidacy for membership was officially approved January 7, 2011…..”  It continues, “…Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe…”    Truth to tell, it might have read, ” with anyone willing to send us $s for a copy of the book when published.”

I remember receiving my first ego con shortly after graduating from college.  It was heady stuff.    Of course, I thought it was well deserved.  My ego was dominating my intelligence….for awhile…but only for awhile.  I never sent them money then…nor to the many other con artists who’ve sent me similar solicitations through the years.  I wonder how many people do…apparently enough to make  it worthwhile to continue the ego con.

Leave a Reply

