“You wanta swing?”

At the end of a race Saturday, this lady came up to me and asked, “you wanta swing?”   My mind’s eye immediately flashed back to my childhood days.   But it turned out to be that her question was based on not that long ago.   At first I didn’t recognize her.   She reminded me that her name is Martha Blanton.   Long before the days of the popular TV show, Dancing with the Stars, I was dancing with Martha.   She attempted to teach me and my wife the waltz, the two-step, the tango, the samba and occasionally, we would swing it.  In the public classes, I was sometimes the only male.   For private lessons, Martha would come to our home or we could go to her’s.    I had not seen Martha for several years, probably more than a decade.   She now lives about 30 miles north of us in Canton, Georgia.  We climaxed the public classes with a dance recital.   My memory conveniently fails me, but I do remember I received applause as the outstanding male dancer.    I was the only male “dancer”.   Born thirty years too soon for Dancing with the Stars!

Leave a Reply

