A 1928 Marriage Certificate

This is a marriage certificate from March 10, 1928.   I found it today going through memorabilia from my parents.  It certifies that my mother, Artis Tucker, and my father, Ballard Lee McClellan, were united in Holy Martimony a few days before Mom’s 17th birthday.    Dad was 4 years-older.  They named their first child Betty Lee McClellan.   When I came along, they  wanted my middle name also to reflect Dad’s name.  But Dad mever did like “Ballard” so they settled on giving me a middle initial, but no middle name.   Here’s a picture of Mom and Dad shortly before she died in 1970 at the age of 59.   Dad would remarry and have fifteen more happy years with my stepmother, Georgia.  Georgia was a widow and one of my Mom’s best friends.   Dad was 78 when he passed.  The certificate and the picture are reminders of from whence I came.    I would guess that many of you treasure similar memorabilia from your parents.

2 Responses to “A 1928 Marriage Certificate”

  1. J. D. Brandenburg Says:

    Don: Thank you for sharing these family treasures with us, who have trusted your reporting of our news for so many years.

  2. Cindy Says:

    Mr. M, you look so much like your mother — especially the eyes! These are wonderful treasures and I’m so glad that you have them. So many times they get tossed into the trash when our older folks pass on. I call them more valuable than all the tea services and bone china.

Leave a Reply

