Driving anonymity

Many people’s personalities seem to change when cloaked in the anonymity of driving.   Why do  some usually polite people become aggressively impolite when they get behind the wheel of a car?  I’m not completely innocent of such behavior.  My parents taught me that ladies go first.  I always will hold a door for a woman or open the door for her to get into a car.   But if she’s in her own car and I’m in mine, I’m ashamed to say that I don’t check to see whether the driver is a man or a woman and govern my driving accordingly.    Forget whether it’s a man or woman, I sometimes become impatient with other drivers and wonder why they think I can read their minds.  They don’t use turn signals.  Maybe they missed that part of the driving test.  Do they know they’re supposed to keep  a safe distance between their vehicle and the one in front of them?  As long as we think we’re anonymous, many of us ignore common rules of civility.     Would it make any difference if the law required us to mount our pictures on the outside of our vehicles?  We’ll likely never know.

Leave a Reply

