“There’s good news tonight!”

I grew up listening to a radio broadcaster named Gabriel Heatter.  He often began his mixture of news and commentary with, “Ah, there’s good news tonight.”    It was sometimes an effort to lift Americans’ spirits, particularly during the early days of World War II.  It became prophetic as the war turned in favor of the Allies.  Those recollections were on my mind today as a friend and I walked through our neighborhood.     We saw four construction crews within a quarter of a mile of each other.   They were doing repairs and improvements.  One of the crew leaders told me his business is booming again.  Later, I went to my bank.   One of the tellers invited me to look at her computer screen.  She wanted me to see a story that says her bank reported a profit of more than 15-million dollars this past quarter, the first profit in several quarters.   The Dow Jones Industrial average rose above 12-thousand again.  There IS good news tonight.  Let’s believe it’ll continue as the economy turns in favor of all who want to work and are ready when the opportunity comes.

One Response to ““There’s good news tonight!””

  1. Deanna Says:

    I sure hope you’re right!

Leave a Reply

