Heroes with clay feet

Does it really make any difference how a public figure behaves in his personal life?   During my time in the news business, several have survived revelations that demonstrate that we Americans almost always are willing to forgive and later glorify many individuals.  Some  sink  into oblivion as only a small footnote in history.    Others become our heroes despite their clay feet.   Witness John Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, Dr. Martin Luther King  Jr., Bill Clinton and the latest to be scrutinized, Herman Cain.   Of couse, we don’t know yet how the Cain story is going to play out, but we can see several accusers are looking for an opportunity to make money off the attention.  I always wonder whether those women searched out an attorney or whether attorneys come to them and egg them on.  You can always argue that we should not judge a public figure by his personal behavior, but by his body of work and the good  he inspires.  Does his or her personal behavior really make much difference?

One Response to “Heroes with clay feet”

  1. Ned Puddleman Says:

    I think it is more about judgment and trust. The one thing I have found to be true in life is those that have an immoral personal life also have immoral dealings it their professional life too. A man that is cheating on his wife is someone that has broken a trust and when you are about to do business with that man, you can’t overlook that fact. I guess that’s one of the reasons I take what public figures say and ignore it in favor of what they do or have done.

    I can’t think of a single public figure that is a “hero” to me. My “hero” was my Mom and Dad. Dad went to work every day to make a living for us. He was dead tired when he got home but he still found time to throw the football or baseball in the yard with me. He also helped me with my homework. Mom stayed at home until I was older and she make sure I had a lunch to take to school, a snack when I got home, and a smile and a hug when I had a bad day.

    As far as Cain goes, the allegations of these women matter less to me than the work he did with the Federal Reserve.

Leave a Reply

