Brasstown Bald

Brasstown Bald is the highest peak in Georgia.  This is looking down from its almost 5-thousand feet summit more than one-hundred miles north of Atlanta.    Each year about this time, running-guru Gary Jenkins stages his Brasstown Bald Buster 5K…3.1 miles from the bottom to the top of the mountain.  The idea is to run to the top, but few do without walking .   My friend, Sandi Aford, and I walked this one Sunday from the start to the finish.   There was a time when I ran all the way, but no more.    At one point, a couple from Nantahala, North Carolina helped keep me going.   That’s Libby and Henry Solsby with me.  He pulled using her jacket as a tow line.  She pushed me.  Sandi relieved them from time to time.   I’m grateful to all!

 
Leave a Reply

