Lost

It was a little before 6 a.m. today when I left my home headed for the workout center at Emory University in metro Atlanta.   The driving time is normally about 30 minutes.  This morning, it took almost 50 minutes.  Here’s why.  There was a fender-bender accident on a ramp that connects a southbound expressway to a northeast expressway.   Traffic was backed up with all lanes on the ramp closed.  Other motorists were kind enough to let me escape and make my way to a detour on downtown Atlanta surface streets.  During my more than 50 years with WSB-Television,I’ve traveled most of the streets in Georgia’s capitol city, but this morning I got lost.  I found myself driving the wrong way on a one-way street.  I went more than 2 blocks before seeing what I thought was an escape.     Instead, it was a dead-end.   As I was turning around, some man started running toward my car.   There was no one else on the street and it was still dark.  I quickly accelerated to get away from him.   I don’t know what his intentions were, but I wasn’t sticking around to find out.  After at least 2 more “where am I moments”, I found another entrance to the northeast expressway that bypassed the accident.  It was a secure feeling to see those familar landmarks again..no longer lost.

Leave a Reply

