Government and bank employees

On this Presidents’ holiday, I was driving across town for my morning workout with the folks at Emory University. Normally, the roads and highways are jam packed, but on this government and bank holiday, it was a breeze.  It causes me to wonder how many government and bank jobs there are in metro Atlanta.  I was talking to a friend at the workout place.  He was leaving there for his job in an operating room.  I suggested they might not be very busy today in the OR..  He said it’s just the opposite.  Many peole have the day off so they use it for their non-critical surgery.  A UPS employee made a delivery to my home late today.  I smilingly asked him why he was working while postal employees were not?   He wasn’t smiling when he answered, “they’re government employees…we’re corporate.”   From all who had the day off,  thank you George Washington, Abe Lincoln, et.al.

Leave a Reply

