Born to be Santa!

The picture is of me and Santa from a race 2 or 3 years ago. Santa (aka) Judge Ken Nix died this week. This posting is a tribute to Judge Nix and a remembrance for his family. I covered him in the courtroom. I read about his exploits as a senior softball player. I watched him as Santa. It was a face born to be Santa. His face was kindly, generous and a resonator for his booming Ho! Ho! Hos!. At 73, he was a youngster in spirit when he lost a 6-month battle with pancreatic cancer. Cobb county and the city of Smyrna have named a stretch of a 4-lane road after him. It’s near my home. Every time I drive by, I think of Ken Nix…how his spirit still lives among us much like Santa’s!

One Response to “Born to be Santa!”

  1. Deanna Says:

    My mom and dad went to church with Mr. Nix at Bethany UMC for years and remained friends with him after we moved to a church closer to our home in Douglasville. They thought so highly of him. I heard that he had been moved to hospice, but I didn’t realize he had passed. Thank you for remembering him.

Leave a Reply

