It’s painful

Over the years, I’ve avoided throwing out a lot of “stuff”. It stems from my feeling that one day the stuff will serve a useful purpose or it will become a collectable antique. We quickly filled our attic with old, outdated electronic gear, clothes and dozens of pairs of running shoes.. We then got a contractor to build a storage building behind our house. Now, it’s full too. We’ve talked about the possibility of renting commercial storage space. My son says the cost would between 50 and 100-dollars a month. It would depend on the size of the building. We probably would soon fill it too. I’m wrestling with a decision. My wife favors selling or donating my stuff. She asks,”why keep things you’ll not likely ever use again?” It’s painful.

4 Responses to “It’s painful”

  1. Janice Says:

    Don, I can TOTALLY relate to this blog tonight! I am a pack rat too; we built an outdoor barn to handle the overflow and as you said about yours, its FULL!
    I am thinking now, who in the world will want all this stuff I have and that I treasure (that’s the tough part, the stuff means alot to ME).
    I am trying to get myself in the mode to start cleaning out and getting rid of stuff. Its hard and like you said VERY PAINFUL!!
    Janice

  2. Janice Says:

    P.S. Forgot to click the button to get notified if you or anyone responded!!
    Doing that now!

    • Don McClellan Says:

      Thanks Janice for the commiseration. Know anyone who can use size 12 lovingly worn running shoes with thousands and thousands of miles on them?
      Don

Leave a Reply

