Women in combat…

At a race today, I ran alongside a friend for awhile. He’s a retired Army Lt. Colonel, the winner of several medals including 2 bronze stars during combat in Vietnam. I asked him how he feels about women going into combat. My friends has strong feelings. He told me that if women in combat had been allowed during his time in the military, he would have resigned his commission. I asked, “what about_________? I was referring to an outstanding woman runner we both know. My friend and I were running the 5.K (3.1 miles). The lady I was asking about was doing the full marathon, 26.2 miles. My friend, the retired Lt. Colonel, said, “there are exceptions.”

2 Responses to “Women in combat…”

  1. Allen Gaskill Says:

    You and I ran together for a few Hundred yards at Callaway 5K on 1/27/13 , and I have been in a combat role with female Gunners , and about half are great ,, the other half make the great ones look bad.

Leave a Reply

