“Nevertheless”

A long-time friend of mine, God willing, will have his 80th birthday in less than 7 months.
He and his high school sweetheart are somewhere in the area of their 60th wedding anniversary.
They’re already great grandparents…expecting their second great grandchild about a month before my friend’s 80th birthday. The couple’s favorite courtin’ tune was written by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby back “in the day”. The lyrics still recall and renew those early days when they hear,

“Maybe I’m right and maybe I’m wrong
Maybe I’m weak and maybe I’m strong
But nevertheless I’m in love with you

Maybe I’ll win and maybe I’ll lose
And maybe I’m in for crying the blues
But nevertheless I’m in love with you

Somehow, I know at a glance
The terrible chances I’m taking
Fine at the start
Then left with a heart that is breaking

Maybe I’ll live a life of regret
And maybe I’ll give much more than I get
But nevertheless, I’m in love with you.
(REPEAT)
Maybe Ill live a life of regret
And maybe I’ll give much more than I get
But nevertheless, I’m in love with you”

Early in my broadcasting career, I was a DJ with “Don Mac’s Platter Party”. I took phone requests from couples to play their favorite love song. The love songs I most remember are Johnny Mathis’ “Chances are” and Ray Coniff’s ,”S’Wonderful” Would that all those couples have had as long and happy marriages as my friend and his spouse!

Leave a Reply

