Learning about Boston….

It was the third Monday in April….Patriot’s Day in metro Boston where my wife grew up. It was also the day of the Boston Marathon. My wife and I were on our annual trip to St. Simons, Georgia for our beach adventure. We were almost there when my cell phone rang. It was our WSB-Television station manager, Marian Pittman, calling. Marian told me there had been an explosion near the finish of the marathon. Could I help with leads on people who might be somewhere on the 26.2 mile course? Based on my own experience in running Boston many years ago, could I do an immediate phone interview with one of our reporters back in Atlanta? A few minutes later, reporter Lori Geary was on the line with me. Lori and I once ran in another marathon together..not side by side but somewhere in the same crowd. In my next posting, I’ll try to remember our conversation.

Leave a Reply

