Heart surgery….

CIMG1994This chart shows a view of the heart that includes the tricuspid valve. Mine is leaking causing a myriad of problems that may be reduced with surgery. For example, my ability to run-walk continues to deteriorate. My cardiologist calls the procedure “a big deal”. It requires that you go on a heart pump while the heart is stopped to replace or repair the valve.CIMG1999This is my cardiac surgeon, Dr. Robert “Bob” Guyton. After I made the decision to have the surgery, Dr. Guyton was on the phone with my other doctors to coordinate the procedure. God willing, it’ll happen a week from today at Emory University hospital in Atlanta.

7 Responses to “Heart surgery….”

  1. Deanna Says:

    Good luck! Prayers for a successful surgery and your full recovery!

  2. Don McClellan Says:

    Deanna, thanks so much!!! Don

  3. Phillip Says:

    I had the same procedure 6/20 (valve replaced plus a double bypass). No better place to be than Emory; quality staff. Recovering amazingly fast. I wish you a speedy recovery.

    • Don McClellan Says:

      Thanks! It’s good to hear from someone who is a similar survivor. Home Thursday! Adjusting. How long did it take you to rehab? Don

      • Phillip Says:

        I am at week 4 and feel great! I walk several miles a day. I want to break into a jog but don’t until the surgeon releases me next week. Chest feels great; it’s my leg (harvest site) that bothers me, but it’s getting better every day. I was at Emory for 4 days and released. I’ll be on medical leave for 6 weeks but at 4 weeks I feel like I can return.
        Good luck!

      • Don McClellan Says:

        Phillip, this is SO encouraging! Thanks!! Don

  4. Jim Blackburn Says:

    Don, I just learned of your surgery and hope that your recovery is going ahead of schedule. God speed for a full recover and running many, many more 5k’s. – Jim Blackburn, Peachtree Corners, GA.

Leave a Reply

